What makes me Happy?

I always have a book on the go no matter how long it takes me to read it and, at the moment, that book just so happens to be Hector and the Search for Happiness. You may have heard of it before: it might be something you’ve already read yourself or you’ve seen the film, the one with Simon Pegg.

Anyway, the whole premise of the book (without giving too much away) is that Hector is a psychiatrist who decides he wants to go on a journey around the world to find the meaning of happiness. On his travels, he meets lots of different people, all of whom find happiness in different things. Hector decides to compile all these reasons into one big list in the hopes he will find the answer he is looking for.

It’s got me asking: what makes me happy?

Happiness is such an elusive concept. People go their whole life trying to reach the ultimate goal of being happy. It might be through making changes in their life like eating less, exercising more, meeting up with friends more often or taking more time out for themselves. Maybe it’s limiting our time on social media or changing jobs to make more money to buy more expensive things.

Don’t get me wrong, sometimes we need changes to happen in our lives to be happy. For example, maybe we are in a relationship that is making us very unhappy all the time and the only way is out. Maybe we aren’t happy through no control of our own, such as depression, and we need to make changes like medication or counselling to feel better.

However, in general, I think that as human beings, we are always aiming for more than what we are. Happiness seems to lie in the things we don’t have; it’s that classic saying of “the grass is always greener”. We set personal goals telling ourselves that in order to be happy, we must be constantly working towards it. We ‘must’ always be aiming for change; to move away from how are lives actually are to what we believe they should be. To reach that ultimate ideal. The end goal.

But is there such a thing as “the end goal”? Is it possible to be happy with what we have now in the present? Can we find happiness in the little things? I think yes, we can. Life can hurl some shit at us and it’s tough, I’ll give you that. But in every day, something happens to make me feel happy to be alive, even if that’s a teeny, tiny thing that might not mean a lot to someone else. It’s these little things that are the most important of all.

I’m going to end this post with a list of just some of the things I can think of that make me happy and hopefully this will inspire some of you to do the same!

My family, my boyfriend, laughing so hard I cry, laughing with my sisters

Watching RuPaul’s Drag Race, watching feel food films

Fresh sheets, clean PJs, socks with cool patterns on them, bed at the end of a long day, fresh flowers in my room, fairy lights, scented candles

TEA (strong, no sugar), hot chocolate, cake, crisps chips, eating in general

New shoes, new clothes, putting make-up on, taking make up off

Sunshine on my face, the beach, my happy place, holidays, spring after a long, cold winter, lambs, baby animals in general, the wind in the trees, seeing animals in the wild, dogs, my own stinky, blind (but cute) Cocker Spaniel, walking in the countryside, a full moon, a beautiful sunset, the pink sky at night, the stars, feeling so tiny when you look up at the sky, the rain when I’m in bed

Hot countries, cold countries, travelling, seeing new things

Reading a book that makes me think about life

Having an easier day with OCD, writing things down that make me happy, finding other people like me, offloading, thinking about the future, having things to look forward to, being told I’m loved

Blogging

Doing nice things for other people

Audio episode:

2 thoughts on “What makes me Happy?

  1. I agree that we always seem to be looking for happiness, but no one seems to have an idea of what that end goal looks like. While striving for a better is a positive thing in many ways, gratitude for where we are at today in our journey is also important.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I second your comment, couldn’t have put it better myself. We can sometimes just lose touch of the present but giving ourselves time to reflect upon our life can make us realise there are lots of little nuggets of loveliness. Thankyou for leaving your thoughts!

      Like

Leave a Reply

