Am I Shakespeare Yet?

I thought I’d share with you a slightly different post today.

Last week, I had a creative writing workshop at uni where I wrote a poem. I’ve never even attempted to do this before because I’ve always assumed I just didn’t have the knack. However, I found it came surprisingly natural! The words just seemed to flow out onto the piece of paper and its turned into something really quite special to me.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did writing it:

 

Intrusive thoughts are like waves.

No.

Not waves. Tsunamis.

Stormy, threatening tsunamis.

They destroy everything in their path.

They leave no rational thought behind.

B

I can taste them in every part of my body.

Sour, putrid, stinking thoughts.

Makes my whole body wither.

I can feel them in my fingers.

B

One, two, three, four.

Will this feeling every go?

How can I forget that image

It projected onto my eyeballs?

B

It’s real.

B

What was I worrying about again?

Oh yes.

You remember.

Imagine an empty brain.

B

Obsessing. Compulsions.

Disorder?

My way of thinking

Or a medical, sterile illness?

B

You aren’t normal.

You need to change.

Your scores aren’t improving.

Have you done your homework?

B

No.

B

What if it’s just me?

Irregular,

Alien,

Alone.

B

But I’m not alone,

There are others here.

We aren’t from Mars,

We’re human.

Leave a Reply

